jump to navigation

America Must Win This War January 5, 2009

Posted by reaganquotes in Reagan, sacrifice, War.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Under one … marker [in Arlington National Cemetery] lies a young man, Martin Treptow, who left his job in a small town barbershop in 1917 to go to France with the famed Rainbow Division. There, on the western front, he was killed trying to carry a message between battalions under heavy artillery fire.

We’re told that on his body was found a diary. On the flyleaf under the heading “My Pledge,” he had written these words: “America must win this war. Therefore I will work, I will save, I will sacrifice, I will endure, I will fight cheerfully and do my utmost, as if the issue of the whole struggle depended on me alone.”

Inaugural Address, West Front of the U.S. Capitol, January 20, 1981

Phrase Catcher Gifts for Conservatives

Shop for great Reagan-themed gifts…
t-shirts, bumper stickers, baby items, and more.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

